Select Page

Contact us

Get in Touch

Quality is our top priority at Al Hakam. Let us help you ensure the authenticity and value of your precious metals.





Al Hakam Hallmark & Assay Center
TC.10/1268/9,DRD Tower
Church Road,Puthenpalli

Frequently Asked Questions

Is it necessary to get my jewellery Hallmarked?

Yes, Hallmarking is now compulsory in India for gold jewellery and artefacts. The Government of India announced in 2019 that mandatory Hallmarking of gold jewellery and artefacts would be implemented in a phased manner. The first phase, which began on June 16, 2021, makes Hallmarking compulsory for 14, 18, and 22 karat gold jewellery. The second phase will cover silver jewellery and artefacts and is scheduled to begin on January 15, 2023. The aim of the compulsory Hallmarking is to ensure that all gold jewellery and artefacts sold in India meet the prescribed standards of purity, and to protect consumers from substandard and counterfeit products.

What is the cost of Hallmarking?

The cost of Hallmarking varies depending on the type and quantity of jewellery you want to get Hallmarked. It is best to inquire about the pricing from the Hallmarking center or assay office.

How long does the Hallmarking process take?

The Hallmarking process usually takes between one to two days. However, it may take longer if there is a high volume of jewellery to be Hallmarked.

Will Hallmarking damage my jewellery?

No, Hallmarking will not damage your jewellery. The process is non-destructive and does not involve any chemical or physical changes to the jewellery.

What if my jewellery fails the Hallmarking test?

If your jewellery fails the Hallmarking test, you can either have it refined to improve its quality or choose not to get it Hallmarked. It is best to consult with the Hallmarking center or assay office to understand your options.

Where can I get my jewellery Hallmarked?

You can get your jewellery Hallmarked at any certified Hallmarking center or assay office authorized by the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS). The BIS website provides a list of authorized centers.